A Healthier YouSisters that Stray

An Introduction to the 7 Chakras

A Healthier You header
Woman doing yoga on a platformThe entire universe is made of energy, and your body is no exception. Balancing your chakras can help you live a healthy and harmonious life. Blocked energy in our seven chakras can lead to illness, so it’s important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep energy flowing freely.

Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine in the tailbone area. This chakra’s role is to connect all of your energy with the earth. It is your grounding chakra.
When in balance: You will feel a sense of accomplishment and peace when you think of things like money, safety, and shelter.
When out of balance: You may experience anxiety and jitteriness.
Bring into balance: Connect to the earth.

Sacral Chakra is located in the lower abdomen. This chakra is the home to your creative life force energy and is all about connecting to others. It relates to pleasure, passion, and sexual energy.
When in balance: You will thrive in the pleasurable things in life.
When out of balance: You may have difficulty feeling satisfied in relationships with others.
Bring into balance: Pelvic thrust, Cobra yoga pose, orange colored foods.

Solar Plexus Chakra is where our self-confidence, identity, and personal power comes from. It is located in the center of the belly button and extends to where your ribs connect in the center of your chest.
When in balance: You will feel high self-worth, powerful, and wise.
When out of balance: You may feel shy or insecure.
To bring into balance: Open your heart, focus on compassion, meditate on kindness, drink peppermint tea, dance!

Heart Chakra is where your love, kindness, and compassion are empowered. The heart chakra also relates to how we process emotion.
When in balance: You are able to feel love for yourself as well as others and you feel inner peace.
When out of balance: You are healing or having difficulty understanding and embracing your emotions.
Bring into balance: Mediate on finding compassion.

Throat Chakra is our ability to communicate and express ourselves. This chakra empowers the voice to our truths.
When in balance: You will be able to speak with kindness and truth, and your words will enlightened and empowers others around you.
When out of balance: You are not honoring or speaking your truth.
Bring into balance: Chanting and honesty.

Third Eye Chakra represents intuition and the ability to see beyond what lies on the surface. This chakra opens our minds to information beyond the material world.
When in balance: You feel intune with the physical and spiritual world.
When out of balance: You may feel anxious or overwhelmed when you think about the future.
Bring into balance: Meditate under natural light, get enough sleep at night, put your screens away before bed.

Crown Chakra is our highest chakra, located at the very top of our head. This chakra represents our ability to be fully connected spiritually.
When in balance: You will feel connected to our own energy as well as the energy that surrounds you.
When out of balance: Living in a state of constant worry, headaches, general lack of purpose, depression and an inability to connect with your higher wisdom.
Bring into balance: Focus on balancing all of your other chakras, and this when will come naturally into balance.